A year in review

September 16 we held our Annual General Meeting. A wonderful group of people from all over the West Yellowhead joined us for an evening to review the year 2013 and the changes at the organization since. Andrea, the Executive Director shared information about our new Outreach and Support Worker position, filled by Sarah, and the harm reduction program history and where it is headed.


Several of our treasured board members have completed their terms and must take a well deserved break. Nancy Taylor has been involved with the HIV West Yellowhead board for over 14 years, and has been our Chair for the past year. She is a rock to the staff, board, and volunteers at HWY, and will continue to be an important supporter of our work. Lori Arnott has also been involved with the organization for 4 years. Lori is always there to offer advice with a smile and goes above and beyond to support staff and the work of the organization. Another long time volunteer, Jessica Alleyne has most recently served as a Director, we are so appreciative of her contributions. We are sad to see all of our outgoing members leave and hope for their continued involvement in the organization.

Present members elected new board members to fill the outgoing positions. Jailin Threinen was elected as Chair, moving from her position as Director. Jailin has given much time and energy to the organization, even creating resources for HWY through a project in her Masters program. We are very excited to have her take on this leadership role on the board. Farrell Archibald was elected as Vice-Chair. She is new to the organization and we are looking forward to fresh ideas and perspectives from her past volunteer experiences and nursing career. Also newly elected to the board are Bruce Geisbrecht and Shawn Montreuil as a Directors (and some guys finally!) Bruce and Shawn have both spent many hours actively volunteering with HWY for the past couple of years and are invaluable members of the HIV West Yellowhead family. Happily, Rhonda Gauthier will stay on in her position as Director, as will Diana Sieben as Treasurer.

A Secretary was not elected at the meeting, so this position is open if anyone in interested. Details about the board and this position can be found here. Six new members joined the organization, something any one can do at any time.

We are looking forward to the coming year and expanding our programs and services, creating new fundraising efforts and events, and getting to know new board members and volunteers!